Image of Scales Families in Transition Seminar
Offered by the Fulton County Family Division

The Purpose of the Seminar

Topics of Discussion

Fees and Registration

Seminar Locations

2013 Seminar Schedule

Other Seminars in Atlanta Metro Area (not Fulton County)

Children's Seminar

Registration Form - Families in Transition*

Registration Form - Assisting Children in Transition*

Directions to Seminars

Printable Version of this Page*

*This document requires Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print. If you need to download Acrobat Reader, click on the icon below.


The Purpose of the Seminar

The Families in Transition Seminar is a court ordered educational program for parties involved in divorce, separate maintenance, paternity, change of custody, visitation, legitimation, and other domestic relations matters involving minor children. The four-hour seminar is conducted by trained counselors and therapists. The seminar is offered by the Family Division of Superior Court of Fulton County. Both parties involved in the action are REQUIRED to attend the seminar within thirty (30) days of the Court Order being served upon the Respondent/Defendant. Parties must attend the entire seminar to obtain credit.

We also offer FIT Seminars entirely in SPANISH. See schedule for dates. For more information, please call 404-612-3938


Topics of Discussion

Topics addressed in the seminar include:

  • the developmental stages of childhood
  • the needs of children at different ages
  • age appropriate expectations of children
  • stress indicators in children
  • divorce as a growth stage
  • the grief process
  • reducing stress through a "good divorce"
  • changing parental and marital roles
  • financial obligations of child rearing
  • conflict management / dispute resolution
  • visitation recommendations to enhance the child's relationship with both parents


Fees, Registration

The cost of the seminar is a NON-REFUNDABLE fee of $30.00 per person, payable by money order, cashier's check or cash. NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED.

Pre-registration

Mail or bring the registration form with the $30.00 per participant fee to:

Fulton County Family Division
Attn: Families in Transition
136 Pryor Street, S.W.
Suite C-826
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH!

In addition, you can pay for the FIT seminar online. Please note there is a $2 administration fee to use this service.

Online Payment for the FIT Seminar


Times and Locations

Saturday Morning Seminar
Downtown Justice Center Building
9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Held once a month at the Carnes Justice Center Building, 160 Pryor Street, S.W., Courtroom G33, Atlanta, Georgia, on the Ground Floor. Please arrive at least thirty (30) minutes early to register and/or check in.

This is the ONLY F.I.T. seminar where walk-in registration and payment are accepted. Pre-payment and pre-registration are welcomed and encouraged.

LATE ARRIVALS WILL NOT BE ADMITTED! PLEASE NOTE: IF YOUR CHILD, AGE 5 - 17, IS ATTENDING THE A.C.T. SEMINAR, BOTH YOU AND YOUR CHILD MUST BE PRE-REGISTERED. CHILDREN UNDER 5 MAY NOT ATTEND.


Weekday Morning Seminar
HJC Bowden Multipurpose Center
9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Held once a month at 2885 Church Street, East Point, Georgia, in the Auditorium. Please arrive at least fifteen (15) minutes early to check in.

Pre-registration and prepayment must be received by the Superior Court of Fulton County Family Division, Families in Transition, 136 Pryor Street, S.W., Suite C-826, Atlanta, GA 30303, no later than the Monday before the seminar.

Please note that seating is limited to the first 20 registered participants. Please call prior to mailing your registration form to check on availability.

NO REGISTRATION OR PAYMENT IS ACCEPTED ON SITE. NO WALK-INS OR LATE ARRIVALS ADMITTED! PLEASE DO NOT BRING CHILDREN.


Weekday Evening Seminar
Dorothy Benson Senior Multipurpose Complex
4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Held once per month at 6500 Vernon Woods Drive, Sandy Springs, Georgia in Building B. Please arrive at least fifteen (15) minutes early to check in.

Pre-registration and prepayment must be received by the Superior Court of Fulton County Family Division, Families in Transition, 136 Pryor Street, S.W., Suite C-826, Atlanta, Georgia 30303, no later than the Monday before the seminar.

NO REGISTRATION OR PAYMENT IS ACCEPTED ON SITE. NO WALK-INS OR LATE ARRIVALS ADMITTED! PLEASE DO NOT BRING CHILDREN.


2013 Schedule of Seminars

Additional classes in Spanish presented on dates indicated by (*). Call 404-612-3938 for information.

  Dorothy Benson Senior
Multipurpose Complex
4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Downtown
9:00 am - 1:00 pm
HJC Bowden
Multipurpose Complex
9:00 am - 1:00 pm
January Thurs., Jan. 10 Sat., Jan. 26* Wed., Jan. 30
February Thurs., Feb. 7 Sat., Feb. 16  Wed., Feb. 20
March Thurs., Mar. 7 Sat., Mar. 16* Wed., Mar. 27
April Thurs., Apr. 4 Sat., Apr. 13  Wed., Apr. 24
May Thurs., May 9 Sat., May 18* Wed., May 22
June Thrus., June 6 Sat., June 15 Wed., June 26
July Thurs., July 11 Sat., July 20* Wed., July 24
August Thurs., Aug. 8 Sat., Aug. 17 Wed., Aug. 28
September Thurs., Sept. 5 Sat., Sept. 21* Wed., Sept. 25
October Thurs., Oct. 3 Sat., Oct. 19 Wed., Oct. 23
November Thurs., Nov. 7 Sat., Nov. 16* Wed., Nov. 20
December Thurs., Dec. 5 Sat., Dec. 14 Wed., Dec.  18


Other Seminars in the Atlanta Metro Area (not Fulton County)

NOTE: If you are involved in a case assigned to the Superior Court of Fulton County Family Division and you attend a seminar outside of Fulton County, please be sure to file the original certificate of your attendance at the seminar with the Clerk of the Superior Court of Fulton County. If you have questions, please call (404) 612-4618.

Clayton County

Cobb County

Dekalb County

Gwinnett

Ninth District

West Georgia


Still have questions? Call 404/612-4618 for recorded information.





Family Division
Superior Court of Fulton County
136 Pryor Street, S.W.
Suite C-826
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
Office Number: 404-612-0505
Fax Number: 404-335-8659